• cardiffcityladiesfc

End of season awards evening

It was a fabulous night full of surprises and celebrations at the Cardiff City Ladies Football Club end of season presentation evening.

It was another glorious and successful season at the clubs 42nd annual event, attended by 150 guests including players and coaches along with their families and friends from every section of the club who joined in the celebrations.

Guests of honour included the Clubs Vice Presidents Joan Bright and her husband Alan, and Professor Laura Mcallister who was on hand to present the Ann McAllister Cup in honour of her late Mum who was a huge supporter of our club to our Club Treasurer Chris Atkins in recognition of her outstanding contribution and dedication throughout the season.

The night was co-hosted by Club Chair Michele Adams and our match day announcer Chris Gadsby who interviewed players as young as 10 on their successes and events of the past season, as they came up to collect their trophies and medals.

Each section had trophies and medals on the table to show for their outstanding season, with the under 12’s stepping up first as league 2 champions. The under 14’s came runners up in their league, and also in the South Wales FA Cup, but collected their trophy for their success as Champions of the FAW National 7 a-side tournament played last week as part of the Champions League festival activities.

By their standards the under 16s had a quiet season finishing mid table in the league and cup semi-finalists but they all enjoyed coming up to be presented with their team photos.

The seniors, not to be outdone, also had their fair share of success throughout the season, both sides came third in their league, and the first team made it to the FA League Cup semi final whilst the reserves reached the quarter final.

Individual awards for Most Improved Players and Player of the Year were presented to every section, as well as a special Club Dragon Award presented to a player in every section for recognition of dedication, commitment and endeavour to the sport.

There was also recognition and thanks for all the coaches, volunteers, parents, friends and committee members for all their hard work and support throughout the season,

There was a surprise moment when the Kate Stratton Club Achievement Award was awarded to our media guys ‘The Radio Boys’ Chris Gadsby, Kieran Lacey and Nahum Bolt for their contribution to the match day experience throughout the season.

Former International player Michelle Green who gained 96 caps in an illustrious international career greeted all players who achieved international honours for the past season, Ella Powell, Caitlin Morris, Emily Poole, Ffion Morgan, Shaunna Jenkins, Chloe Chivers, Ffion Llewellyn,

Gemma Evans, Laura O’Sullivan, and Hannah Miles.

The Presidents Cup awarded to the ‘Senior Players Player of the year’ was won by Chloe Lloyd in recognition of an outstanding season in the FA Women’s Premier League.



Under 12 ‘s Most Improved Player - Kate Wood

Under 12’s Player of the Year - Nicole Fenton

Under 14’s Most Improved player - Chelsea Williams & Sian Lloyd

Under 14’s Player of the Year - Phoebe Poole

Merit Award - Rhedd Lundin

Under 16’s Most Improved Player - Megan Phillips

Under 16’s Player of the Year - Amelia Barnes & Katie Williams

Baby Dragon - Emily Hanbury

Mini Dragon - Kiera Rice & Grace Rogers

Senior Dragon – Reserve Section - Chelsea Deacon

Senior Dragon - Ffion Llewellyn

Reserve Most Improved Player - Georgia Roberts - Powell

Coaches Reserves Player of the Year - Jasmine Turner

Reserve Players Player of the Year - Jasmine Turner

Senior Most Improved Player – Hannah Miles

Coaches Senior Player of the year - Cori Williams

The Presidents Cup awarded to the

Senior Players Player of the Year - Chloe Lloyd

Kate Stratton Award - The Radio Boys

Ann McAllister Cup - Chris Atkins

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All